SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES BOARD OF EDUCATION – SCHOOL DISTRICT OF COLBY MONDAY, APRIL 28, 2014 COLBY DISTRICT EDUCATION CENTER

The Special School Board Meeting on April 28, 2014, was called to order at 7:00 p.m. in the Colby District Education Center by Board President, William Tesmer. Members present were Donna Krueger, William Tesmer, Cheryl Ploeckelman, Seth Pinter, Lavinia Bonacker and Eric Elmhorst. Also present were Superintendent Steven Kolden and Kristen Seifert. Board member Deb Koncel and Student Board Representative Makala Bach were absent.

The meeting notice was posted according to the requirements of the open meeting law.

Mr. Tesmer, Board President called for the Election of Officers:

Mr. Elmhorst nominated William Tesmer for Board President, seconded by Mrs. Ploeckelman. Motion by Mr. Elmhorst, seconded by Mrs. Ploeckelman, to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Mr. William Tesmer for Board President. Voice Vote. Motion Carried.

Mr. Elmhorst nominated Cheryl Ploeckelman for Board Vice President, seconded by Mr. Pinter. Motion by Mr. Elmhorst, seconded by Mrs. Bonacker, to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Mrs. Ploeckelman as Vice President. Voice vote. Motion carried.

Mrs. Ploeckelman nominated Eric Elmhorst for Clerk, seconded by Mr. Pinter. Motion by Mrs. Krueger, seconded by Mr. Pinter, to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Mr. Elmhorst as Clerk. Voice vote. Motion carried.

Mrs. Ploeckelman nominated Donna Krueger for treasurer, seconded by Mrs. Bonacker. Motion by Mr. Elmhorst, seconded by Mr. Pinter, to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Mrs. Krueger as Treasurer. Voice vote. Motion carried.

Mr. Tesmer, Board President, made the following committee and position appointments:

Donna Krueger as WASB Annual Meeting Delegate. Alternate – Deb Koncel.

Cheryl Ploeckelman as CESA #10 Annual Meeting Delegate. Alternate – Eric Elmhorst.

Bill Tesmer as Representative to the Colby IDEA Foundation, Inc.

Seth Pinter as Representative to the District Technology Committee.

Cheryl Ploeckelman as Representative to the ESEA Plan Committee.

Donna Krueger, Board Treasurer, as Pension Plan Trustee.

Kristen Seifert as Recording Secretary for Board of Education Meetings.

Motion by Mrs. Krueger, seconded by Mr. Elmhorst, to designate the Nicolet Bank, Advantage Community Bank and Forward Financial Bank as depositories for school district funds; to designate Ruder Ware as the Legal Counsel to the District; to approve Johnson Block & Company for audit services; to designate the Tribune Phonograph as the official paper of publication for school district business; to approve the use of signature stamp/facsimile signatures for Board of Education officers. Voice vote – Motion carried.

Mr. Tesmer, Board President, appointed the following members to Board of Education Standing Committees:

Policy & Curriculum Committee – Eric Elmhorst, Chair, Cheryl Ploeckelman, Deb Koncel. Facilities & Transportation Committee – Bill Tesmer, Chair, Lavinia Bonacker, Donna Krueger. Personnel Committee – Donna Krueger, Chair, Lavinia Bonacker, Deb Koncel. Financial Affairs Committee – Donna Krueger, Chair, Deb Koncel, Seth Pinter.

Motion by Mrs. Krueger, seconded by Mr. Pinter, to approve the 2014-15 Board Meeting schedule including dates, times and places as presented. Voice vote. Motion carried.

Motion by Mrs. Krueger, seconded by Mr. Elmhorst, to adjourn the meeting. Voice vote. Motion carried.

Respectfully Submitted:

Eric Elmhorst, Clerk

Kristen Seifert, Recording Secretary